top of page

My first website blog post!

Well, this is a little bit exciting! I am currently in Easter break between my second and third (and final!) term studying Textiles at Cardiff Metropolitan University. I say Easter 'break' but I am writing this whilst juggling two digital sewing machines on the go! Hopefully all this hard work will pay off in July when I graduate. My deadline for this final project is fast approaching, the 6th May can both come around quickly and slow down! I am excited to finish this chapter of my life and hopefully start working towards gaining a career in the industry I have loved since I was a child. Textiles has always been something I have been enthusiastic about.

This was the basis of my final project I am currently completing. I wanted to produce a collection of designs inspired by Textiles itself. I have forever been a lover of vintage and also wanted to incorporate this theme into my collection. I came up with the idea of creating designs of vintage items related to textiles i.e. vintage singer sewing machines, thread spools, thimbles etc yet creating them in modern ways. In my first project of third year I found a strength and passion for digital stitch so I have been creating the majority of my designs using this technique.

The concept I am trying to convey is that in the 21st Century we have two juxtaposing ideologies in our society. We want things fast and we want things now, arguably due to fast track delivery services like Amazon Prime. Yet, there has also been a surge in the vintage and the handmade - so much so that you can now buy a kit to make your own set of knickers for £15.. but why would we do this when we could pop to our local Primark and buy a pair for 50p? With the 'knicker kit' it is the handmade element, the time, the effort, the love that is put into this which make it desired.

My final exhibition will display these two contrasting ideas by displaying vintage items created in a digital way.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page